Our History 

2012     The University of North Texas (UNT) hosted our first collegiate financial education programming summit. Four universities attended and Sam Houston State University (SHSU) proposed the formation of a statewide association.

2013     The Texas Association of Collegiate Financial Education Professionals (TACFEP) was formed and tacfep.com was launched. UNT served as the interim administrator, drafted our bylaws, and hosted the association’s inaugural statewide Programming Summit. SHSU hosted the association’s inaugural statewide Symposium.

2014     The inaugural Board of Directors was formed and Rachel Grimes (UNT) served as the association’s first President. The University of Texas at Arlington (UTA) hosted the annual statewide Symposium and the Texas State Technical College of Waco hosted the annual Programming Summit.

2015     Texas A&M University (TAMU) hosted the annual statewide Symposium and the University of Texas at Tyler (UT-Tyler) hosted the annual Programming Summit.

2016     Annual Membership Dues were established and TACFEP was invited to present before the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). Texas Tech University (TTU) hosted the annual statewide Symposium and Austin Community College (ACC) hosted the annual Programming Summit.

2017     Our 5TH anniversary! Patsy Collins (SHSU) was selected as a 60x30TX Data Fellow by THECB and also became TACFEP's second President. Bryan Ashton (Board Member - Trellis) also served on THECB's Financial Literacy Advisory Council. UNT, Southern Methodist University (SMU), and the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD) jointly hosted the annual statewide Symposium (51 attendees), which offered student scholarships for the first time. SHSU hosted the annual Programming Summit.

2018     Trellis Company and ACC jointly hosted the annual statewide Symposium (56 attendees), and ACC hosted the annual Programming Summit. 

2019     Several TACFEP Board Members (Patsy Collins - SHSU, Bryan Ashton - Trellis, and Nick Kilmer - TAMU) have been selected as members of THECB's Financial Wellness Learning Collaborative. TAMU hosted the annual statewide Symposium (93 attendees) and UNT will host the annual Programming Summit. Paul Goebel (Board Member - UNT) will also represent TACFEP at the 2019 Texas Financial Literacy Summit, which is co-sponsored by the Texas Bankers Association, Independent Bankers Association, and Texas Jumpstart.


Texas Association of Collegiate Financial Education Professionals 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software